top of page

An unexpected visit to Sincerity Cafe and Restaurant


Some weekend ago, I drove my wife and my mother-in-law to Divisoria. As expected with a weekend, traffic was at a snail's pace. We got to Lucky Chinatown Mall about an hour before lunchtime.

Tip: Try to get to Divisoria as early as possible as you will spend almost an hour (or more) in heavy traffic

Like any good hubby, I just let them be on their shopping and waited in one of the cafes inside the mall. It was past the usual lunchtime already when I got the signal that they are finished and famished. After putting all the shopping bags in the car I met up with them at Sincerity Restaurant.

I can't remember how my wife knew about Sincerity, but what stuck was a specialty of the restaurant was fried chicken. As we got seated, what I noticed is the feel of the ambiance. It was a stark contrast from the restos you in a mall. It felt that I am eating at a regular air conditioned restaurant.

While waiting for our orders, I was able to read the mural on the wall. It did proudly show the story of the restaurant and their specialties as well as some articles that featured the restaurant. With the two feature articles included, what caught my eye was the feature titled "Chinatown's Incomparable Chicken". Having just recently binged watch Cooking Master Boy online, it reminded of one episode where the word "Incomparable" was used. It was mentioned in the episode that incomparable was something so great that nothing else was like it. So I got really curious as to what made the fried chicken at Sincerity Cafe and Restaurant incomparable.

The image above (I really need to practice the zoom on the camera) is the incomparable chicken. Unfortunately, unlike what was described in the article, the chicken was not that crunchy. There were some parts that was enough to be called "crunchy". However, the chicken feels like it was cooked in the morning and was just reheated. Before writing this post, I checked the internet for other food blogs that have written about the fried chicken of Sincerity and they did write about the fired chicken's crunchiness. I envy those food bloggers who had tasted the special crunchiness of the Sincerity fried chicken. For the taste, it really seeped into the meat of the chicken. With the taste bursting through the meat, one order of the chicken would really go a long way. A couple of pieces of chicken has enough taste to make you use up two cups of rice. It is unfortunate though, that I cannot say the taste is incomparable as upon my first bite, it reminded me of a fried chicken I have tasted before. Thinking about as I write this post made me think about the tangy flavor I tasted eating the Sincerity fried chicken. The taste feels like the chicken was marinated in a batter that was infused by lemon or lime juice.

Aside from the fried chicken, we also ordered some noodles, specifically lomi and the Sincerity Chami. Having thick noodles easily made us feel full that we almost were not able to finish everything.

Lomi

Sincerity Chami

Overall, I think another visit is needed here. The experience may have been rushed as it was already getting late and we had to go check out another shopping center in Divisoria. I would really want to sample the same chicken that was served to the writers who wrote the article. This might be the first one to visit when my wife and I finally go through with our plan for a Binondo food trip.

By the way reader, I was able to add a comment section for each post. So feel free to leave me a comment down below.

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
ARCHIVE
bottom of page